caf.com / news / ie business school and caf organize 8th edition of ibero-american economic journalism award


TwitterFacebookGoogle plusLinkedInYoutubeRSSSuscribe
27 de September de 2018IE Business School and CAF organize 8th edition of Ibero-American Economic Journalism Award

The purpose of this award is to acknowledge the best journalistic pieces published or disseminated in the media (press, magazines, blogs, websites or TV) in Latin America, Spain or Portugal in order to promote the dissemination of economic culture in society. The 8th edition will consider especially, although not exclusively, reports on the issue of “internationalization of Latin American companies,” or intra-regional and extra-regional free trade agreements.

comparteimg - Twitterimg - Facebookimg - GooglePlusimg - LinkedInimg - Whatsapp

The Ibero-American economic journalism award is a one-of-a-kind accolade in the region, and more than 1,750 articles and several hundreds of journalists and important media outlets have participated in the previous seven editions. In addition, a new category has been opened for the third year in a row, which will give an award to the Best published media outlet with offices outside capital cities (regional coverage media in each country). The purpose of this category is to highlight the role of the economic press outside capital cities.

The 8th edition of the award grants a total of USD 8,000 to the best articles in the region. Applications may be submitted until December 31. You can read the full award rules at http://www.premioperiodismo.ie.edu/iberoamerica/bases/


Success of the 7th edition

In the last edition of the award, more than 150 articles, reports, interviews and other informational formats were submitted by over 50 media outlets, signed by more than 100 economic journalists in the region.

Last year, “ILab, Breeding ground for opportunities and innovation,” was selected by the Jury as the Best Article in the Daily Press Category. The work by Mariana F. Maldonado, published in El Universal (Mexico), was chosen for disseminating the work of an entrepreneurship hub that promotes social mobility, a major regional issue.

The award for Best Article in the Non-Daily Press Category went to “Innovators’ Zone,” written by Andrés Almeida, and published in the América Economía journal, based on his analysis of the innovative ecosystem in ten Latin American cities.

The 8th Award for Economic Journalism also acknowledged the work of three media outlets based on their work in promoting economic and entrepreneurial culture in Latin America.

El Economista (Mexico) was the winner in the Best daily media outlet, based on its ample coverage of economic issues and innovation. It was founded in the second half of the 1980s, at the start of a very intense period in Mexico’s economic life.

The Exame journal (Brazil) received an award as non-daily publication, thanks to its dissemination of economic information and the advancement of the entrepreneurial agenda in Brazil. It was created in 1967 as a supplement to other journals, until Abril publishing house made Exame an independent journal in 1971. Its web version exame.com produces 65,000 reports and more than 1,000 videos per year, and reaches 14 million users every month

Infonegocios (Córdoba, Argentina) has been recognized for its work on economic information as the best media published outside the country’s capital. Founded in July 2003, it is now published in Córdoba, Tucumán, Salta, Neuquén, Mar del Plata, Corrientes and Resistencia. The Córdoba issue produces 3,000 exclusive articles every year.


Prestigious Jury

The jury of the 8th edition is composed of executives from the organizers of the award: IE BUSINESS SCHOOL and CAF, as well as representatives of the journalism and entrepreneurial world, including Gabriela Frías, journalist at CNN en español, Carlos Jornet, Director of La Voz del Interior, 2016 awardee, André Verissimo, Deputy director of Negócios (Portugal), Millán Berzosa, Professor of Digital Journalism at UFV and responsible for Google News Lab Spain and Portugal and Roberto Sapaq, Director of Diario Financiero in Chile and 2016 awardee.

The awards ceremony will take place in April 2019 at Casamerica, Madrid, Spain. Further information at: http://www.premioperiodismo.ie.edu/iberoamerica/bases/

TwitterFacebookGoogle plusLinkedInYoutubeRSSSuscribe